Driving after Cancellation, Revocation, or No Insurance in Minnesota
There are a wide range of Minnesota traffic offenses. Unfortunately, the vast majority have been criminalized, meaning that you may be facing jail time, high fines and the loss of your driving privileges. These offenses include: Careless or Reckless Driving, Inattentive Driving, Driving after Cancellation, Driving after Revocation and No Insurance-No Proof of Insurance. Serious traffic crimes can even result in felony charges.
Penalties for Minnesota Traffic Crimes
The penalty associated with the offense depends on the level of the offense.
Careless or Reckless Driving: This offense typically involves driving conduct that posses a threat of injury to the driver, passengers or drivers of other vehicles. It can also involve the threat of property damage. Careless Driving/Reckless Driving charges usually arise as a result of an automobile accident, low blood-alcohol content, driving at high speeds, etc. The maximum penalty for this offense is 90 days in jail and a $1000.00 fine, and possible loss of driving privileges.
Driving after Cancellation: Of all the “traffic” offenses this is the most frequent and most serious as it often stems the driver having a number of DWI convictions. In Minnesota, a driver’s license is cancelled if the driver has two or more DWI convictions. Once cancelled the privilege of driving is lost until the driver shows proof of rehabilitation.
The maximum penalty for this offense is one year in jail and a $3,000 fine. Typically, p prosecutors ask for jail time for this offense. Pleading guilty to this offense will result in your license being re-revoked.
Driving after Revocation: Driver’s charged with this crime typically have had their licenses revoked because of a prior DWI or No Insurance/No Proof of Insurance conviction that resulted in the loss of driving privileges. The driver then drives and is stopped by the police. When driving with a revoked license, you can be charged with a misdemeanor. The fine can be up to $1,000 and a 90-day jail sentence if convicted of the crime.
No Proof of Insurance/No Insurance: Minnesota requires all drivers and driven vehicles to have proof of insurance. Failure to provide proof of insurance or have insurance on a motor vehicle is a crime punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000.00. Pleading guilty to either offense will result in your license being revoked for a minimum of 30 days. Three or more offenses in a ten-year period can result in gross misdemeanor charges, meaning you are facing one year in jail and a $3000.00 fine.
It is also important to note that previous offenses play a role in penalties as well. If there have been previous offenses, then expect the penalty to be more severe. The prosecutor may try to obtain the maximum charge and penalty.
Minnesota License Revocation & Cancellation
There are several other reasons in which a license may be revoked or cancelled. Here are some of those reasons:
- Drug charges
- Failure to pay child support
- Out of state convictions
- Failure to appear in court for traffic tickets
- Failure to pay fines
- Underage drinking
- Other traffic violations
Traffic Crimes Lawyer in Eden Prairie, Minnesota
If you have been charged with a traffic offense you need an aggressive, trusted, honest, knowledgeable attorney; Martin S. Azarian Criminal Defense, P.A. The Law Firm of Martin S. Azarian Criminal Defense, P.A. brings 22 years of experience to your case, seventeen years in Minnesota.
When you retain him, you get his 22 years of courtroom experience. Period! What you need is aggressive representation that can achieve the best possible outcome for you. Whether this is your first, second offense, your third, or your fourth, you need proper representation, so call the Minnesota defense attorney who cares about your case by calling our office at (612) 343-9000 or call 24 hours a day at (952) 451-4987 for a free initial telephone consultation.