Have you been charged with DWI in Minnesota?
An initial DWI conviction can have very severe consequences, but more than one offense can result in even more severe consequences. There are legal consequences and penalties that are much more severe than the consequences and penalties of a first offense. In some cases a second offense can result in the seizure and forfeiture of the car even if the car is not yours. In many cases, the license plates may be impounded and a longer revocation of the driver’s license can result. In other words, you are guaranteed stiffer penalties with a Repeat DWI than a first. As the number of offenses grows, so do the penalties.
Overall, the jail sentences, alcohol monitoring, and any other penalties become a lot more severe the more offenses that are committed. By the 4th offense in a 10-year period, possible felony charges and prison time could be the consequence.
Criminal Vehicle Operation in Minnesota
When looking at DWIs and repeat offenses, there is also Criminal Vehicle Operation in Minnesota, or CVO. First time CVO offenders may face gross misdemeanor or felony charges even if it is the driver’s first DWI. Drivers convicted of Criminal Vehicular Operation can lose their driving privileges for one year.
Penalties for DWI in Minnesota
There are a number of penalties that can be experienced with a repeat DWI offense in Minnesota. Those penalties include:
- Significant fines
- Prison time
- Court costs
- Jail time
- Lengthy probation
- Alcohol treatment and education
Repeat DWI Prosecuting Attorney
In a DWI case, the Minnesota prosecuting attorney prosecuting the case will use available evidence to determine the degree of the charge. This will be done by looking at the charged individual’s driving record including, but not limited to, the past 10 years. Prosecutors also take into account whether there was an accident, the blood-alcohol level, driving conduct, number of priors, presence of children, etc.
DWI convictions in Minnesota carry serious consequences
In the state of Minnesota, there are mandatory sentencing guidelines that are used in DUI and DWI cases. Anyone who is convicted of a first, second, or third degree DUI must serve some mandatory jail time. Anyone testing over the legal blood alcohol content of .08 will also have driving privileges taken away.
If Charged With DWI, Call Martin Azarian 24/7
If you have been charged with a repeat DWI offense you need an aggressive, trusted, honest, knowledgeable attorney; Martin S. Azarian Criminal Defense, P.A. The Law Firm of Martin S. Azarian Criminal Defense, P.A. brings 22 years of experience to your case, seventeen years in Minnesota. When you retain him, you get his 22 years of courtroom experience. Period! What you need is aggressive representation that can achieve the best possible outcome for you. Whether this is your first, second offense, your third, or your fourth, you need proper representation, so call the Minnesota DWI attorney who cares about your case at 952-451-4987 for your free initial telephone consultation.