Have you been charged with underage dwi in minnesota?
If a driver is under 21 years of age and under the influence of drugs or alcohol, there are misdemeanor penalties that can result if convicted. The penalties can be up to 90 days in jail, a $1,000.00 fine, and involve driver’s license revocation and fines. The penalties increase if the driver has prior DWI or underage convictions.
underage dwi charges are defined by zero alcohol tolerance
Minnesota does not take underage drinking lightly. Minnesota has a zero alcohol tolerance for minors (under 18) and those under 21 who consume alcohol or drugs and get behind the wheel of any motorized vehicle. If a person under 21 has any alcohol in their system at all, he will be charged with underage drinking and driving. If the person under 21 tests over .08 he faces the full effect of the law just an adult who tests over .08 would. If you have been charged with this crime, you need the assistance of a Minneapolis DWI lawyer to help you combat the charges.
Penalties for Underage DWI in Minnesota
The DWI laws in Minnesota apply to drivers no matter how old they are. In order to be charged with DWI, an individual must have consumed a substance that places them under the influence while they are behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. While alcohol is not an illegal substance, it is illegal for a person to drink it before driving.
Contact a Minneapolis DWI Attorney
If you are the parent of a child or you are someone who is under 21 and you have been accused of underage DWI, you deserve the best possible defense against the DWI charges so that you can receive a fair outcome. Just because you have been charged doesn’t mean that you will be convicted. To find out more about how the Law Office of Martin S. Azarian Criminal Defense, P.A. can help you, call 612-343-9000 for a free telephone consultation.