Have You Been Charged With Domestic Assault?
Domestic assault is a crime against a family member or another member of the household. Domestic Assault in Minnesota is intentionally inflicting bodily harm against another within the household, or attempting to inflict bodily harm. However, a more common version of Domestic Assault does not require any bodily harm; the mere act of causing fear of bodily harm is enough for a charge to be brought and resulting conviction.
Household and family members include spouses, ex-spouses, children, parents, blood relatives, someone who shares a child with the defendant, if a man is the alleged father of a pregnant woman’s child, individuals who have lived together at one time, and anyone else who may be living within the home at the present time.
Criminal charges require a thorough review of the case
In Minnesota, domestic assault can be charged as a misdemeanor, a gross misdemeanor, or a felony. Domestic assault is also an enhanceable offense in Minnesota, which means the penalties can be harsher if there have been prior convictions. As for whether domestic assault will be charged as a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony, it depends on the circumstances surrounding the crime.
After a charge of domestic assault, prosecutors often request an Order For Protection. These Orders are meant to keep the defendant from coming in contact with the alleged “victim” even if the contact seems innocent, well meaning or instigated by the “victim”. A judge can even prevent a defendant from living in his or her own home, prevent the defendant from seeing his or her own children. When an Order of Protection is violated in Minnesota, it is considered a very serious crime. Furthermore, those who are convicted of domestic assault within Minnesota are not allowed to possess firearms at any time.
Criminal charges in minneapolis are difficult to dismiss
Domestic assault cases can be quite challenging. Defendants often believe that if the “victim” does not want to press charges, the case will be dismissed. This is almost never the case. It is the prosecutor who decides whether a case ought to be dismissed, not the victim. Often, prosecutors can even try a case against the defendant without the need of the victim’s testimony. That is why you need an experienced attorney to defend you.
Domestic Assault Lawyer Minneapolis
If you have been charged with a repeat DWI offense you need an aggressive, trusted, honest, knowledgeable attorney; Martin S. Azarian Criminal Defense, P.A. The Law Firm of Martin S. Azarian Criminal Defense, P.A. brings 22 years of experience to your case, seventeen years in Minnesota. When you retain him, you get his 22 years of courtroom experience. Period!
What you need is aggressive representation that can achieve the best possible outcome for you. Whether this is your first, second offense, your third, or your fourth, you need proper representation, so call the Minneapolis assault defense lawyer who cares about your case by calling our office at (612) 343-9000 or call 24 hours a day at (952) 451-4987 for a free initial telephone consultation.